Science 6 Environmental Issues Research Guide: Book and EBook Resources

Baby Professor showcases a collection of subjects that are educational for kids to help them learn how to do something themselves, exactly how something is done or how it came about. Children love to learn through attractive visuals and Baby Prof. is ideal to get your child the head start he or she needs for the future. Our Motto - "Learning is Fun, so let's Make it Fun to Learn".

Today, many general contractors specialize in environmentally-friendly construction methods. “Green” buildings use less energy and are often made with recycled materials. Readers will learn about the people who specialize in this type of construction and how they can prepare for a career in this cutting edge field.

Recent advances in harnessing energy from the wind, sun, and tides are explored. People are encouraged to seek resources beyond fossil fuels.

The country's "addiction" to oil is described and alternative energy potential from hydrogen is discussed.

Nuclear energy, with the potential to provide vast amounts of power, is a controversial topic. The science, history, and the controversy are explained here.

Electrical charges pervade nature, including lightning in a thunderstorm and the signals within our own bodies. Electrical energy also powers many of the devices—refrigerators, televisions, and computers, to name a few—upon which modern life depends. This illuminating volume explores the various aspects of electricity, including electric fields, currents, and circuits, as well as the relationship of electricity and magnetism to the functioning of motors and generators.

With growing populations across the world consuming Earth’s limited oil and natural gas reserves, the environmental and economic toll of energy dependence becomes an increasingly global concern. The development of renewable forms of energy—solar, wind, water, and geothermal, to name a few—offers alternatives to fossil fuels. Consumers are embracing these new modes of energy delivery and use. This extensive volume examines the possibility of a cleaner and more energy efficient future by detailing the historic and emerging technologies behind some the most promising alternative resources.

Hawaii State Public Library Intermediate to upper grade look at fossil fuels, gleaned from the distinguished author and contributor database of Encyclopedia Britannica, with additional editorial expertise. Discusses the origins of petroleum, natural gas, and coal including their history of use, products, how they're obtained, refined, and utilized. Text heavy emphasis is complemented by color photos, graphics, maps, tables, and sidebars. End matter includes a glossary, bibliography, and index.

This title provides information on one of most promising emerging sources of energy, waste. Provides a background on the opportunity and challenges associated with using waste to produce alternative energy.

This title provides information on Coal as a source of energy. It highlights the positives and negatives of coal and discusses clean coal technology.

Long known as a potential power source, geothermal energy - heated water from within the Earth - is now being tapped. This book outlines those efforts and looks to the future.

For years, people have used water power to provide electricity. This study recaps that history and describes exciting new techniques.