Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Aboriginal Documentary Heritage: Historical Collections of the Canadian Government
Primary and secondary sources related to the historic relationship between the Canadian people and Indigenous people in Canada. There are some good resources here relating to treaty conflict and the role of indigenous Canadians in World War One and Two.
Digital Access to the Royal BC Museums digital archives of primary and secondary source documents related to both BC and Canada's history.
Canada's Department of National Defence Military History Page
Primary and secondary resources provided by Canada's Department of National Defence related to the military history of Canada.
Canada and the First World War
Curated by Library and Archives Canada, this collection looks at the role Canadian men and women played in the first world war. This collection provides both primary and secondary sources.
Canadian Military History Gateway
Curated by the Canadian Government, this gateway provides access to governmental resources related to the history of the Canadian military as well as links to numerous outside sources for further research.
Canadian War Museum
The "Learn" section of this website give you access to the digital archives of the museum and access to primary and secondary sources related to Canada's role in conflict.
CBC Archives - History
The achieved page for CBC's history articles, series and digital content. Extensive articles related to Canada's history related to conflict on a wide range of topics.
CBC Archives War and Conflict
A comprehensive source for resources related to Canada's role in war and conflict on a global scale.
Commemorative History of Aboriginal People in the Canadian Military
This online book published by the Canadian National Defence and National Forces, focuses on the history of aboriginal people in the Canadian military.
Documents on the October Crisis
Curated by the Marianopolis College Department of Quebec history, these documents provide information on the October Crisis in Quebec.
Juno Beach Centre
The history section of this website provides you with information on the people and events of World War II from a Canadian perspective.
Korean Veterans Association of Canada
This site provides links to resources focused on Canada's role in the Korean War as well as resources related to other countries.
Library and Archives Canada
Digital Access to the Government of Canada Library and Archives collection that provides access to an extensive collection of primary and secondary source material related to a wide range of Canadian topics.
Library and Archives Canada Military Heritage
This resource gives you access to Library and Archives Canada's Military Heritage collection that looks at the history of Canada's role in conflict.
McGill University's Canadian War Poster Collection
Access to McGill University's digitized collection of Canadian War Posters from World War One and Two.
McMaster University's Peace and War in the 20th Century
Access to McMaster University's digital collection of primary and secondary source material pertaining to international conflict, war, and measures to enact peace.
The Society for Military History
Their resources and archives page provides links to numerous sources related to military history from around the world. While some of their links are broken, there are still some good sources on this site.
The University of Manitoba Canada at War Collection
Access to the University of Manitoba's collection on Canada's history of war.
US Army Center of Military History
A useful page if you are looking to compare Canada's response during wartime to the American response.
An extensive collection of primary sources related to Canada's history and heritage. This is an open online source and doesn't require a login.
Canadian Military History
This is an open source journal and does not require login.
Since its launch in 1992, Canadian Military History has become one of the premier journals in its field. CMH is a peer-reviewed academic journal published bi-annually by the Laurier Centre for Military Strategic and Disarmament Studies with editorial and financial support from the Canadian War Museum. Its purpose is to foster research, teaching, and public discussion of historical and contemporary military and strategic issues.
Canadian Points of View
Accessible through EBSCO, this database requires you to login with our EBSCO login credentials. This resource provides articles presenting point and counterpoint perspectives on Canadian issues.
Gale in Context: Canada
This database is accessible through our Gale collection and requires our Gale credentials to login. It provides resources related to Canadian issues in history and the world.
When working from home, this database requires login using the JSTOR credentials. If you select the History, International Relations, and/or Military history options in advanced search, that will help you narrow down your search for this assignment.
Points to the Past
Points to the Past gives you access to primary source historical documents from a broad range of time periods and from several different databases. Points to the Past has been generously provided free of cost to BC school to be used for research and teaching purposes in a joint venture between University of Victoria Libraries, University of British Columbia Libraries and Simon Fraser University Libraries in collaboration with Gale.
The resources in this section are accessible via our eBook collection. To access them click on the link below over visit the Learning Commons Website. You will need your school email login credentials to access these resources.
Canada 2013 by
Publication Date: 2013-08-28
This is an annually updated presentation of Canada past and present. It is broken down into sections dealing with Canada’s culture, geography, people, history (from New France to the constitutional debates in the late 20th century), political system (including the constitution, monarchy, executive, parliament, legal and court system, federalism and the provinces, provincial governments, parties and elections), defense, economy, future and bibliography.
Canada in the Great Power Game, 1914-2014 by
Publication Date: 2014-08-05
Canada in the Great Power Game 1914-2014 is a serious contemplation of what it means to engage in major world conflicts, and the price we pay when we do.
The First World War was Canada's baptism of fire, or at least the only one that people now remember. (Montrealers in 1776 or Torontonians in 1814 would have taken a different view.) From 1914 to 1918, after a century of peace, Canadians were plunged back into the old world of great power rivalries and great wars. So was everybody else, but Canadians were volunteers. We didn't have to fight, but we chose to, out of loyalty to ideas and institutions that today many of us no longer believe in. And we have been doing the same thing ever since, although we haven't quite given up on the latest set of ideas and institutions yet.
In Canada in the Great Power Game, Gwynne Dyer moves back and forth between the seminal event, the First World War, and all the later conflicts that Canada chose to fight in. He draws parallels between these conflicts, with the same idealism among the young soldiers, and the same deeply conflicted emotions among the survivors, surfacing time and again in every war right down to Afghanistan. And in each case, the same arguments pro and con arise--mostly from people who are a long, safe way from the killing grounds--for every one of those "wars of choice."
Echoing throughout the book are the voices of the people who lived through the wars: the veterans, the politicians, the historians, the eyewitnesses. And Dyer takes a number of so-called excursions from his historical account, in which he revisits the events and puts them in context, pausing to ask such questions as "What if we hadn't fought Hitler?" and "Is war written in our genes?" This entertaining and provocative book casts an unsparing eye over what happens when Canada and the great powers get in the war business, illuminating much about how we see ourselves on the world stage
England, Canada and the Great War
Call Number: https://soraapp.com/library/independentca/search/query-canada/page-1/202385/797156
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
This book shows us the relationship Britain and Canada shared at the outbreak of war. It is ideal to understand the personal relationships the two countries had in order to understand the allied connection with one another.
The Fog of War by
Call Number: https://soraapp.com/library/independentca/search/query-canada/page-1/202385/627960
Publication Date: 2012-02-21
Wartime secrets and the men charged with manipulating Canadian public opinion are unveiled for the first time in this riveting account of media censorship by the government during World War II.
The Canadian government censored the news during World War II for two main reasons: to keep military and economic secrets out of enemy hands and to prevent civilian morale from breaking down. But in those tumultuous times -- with Nazi spies landing on our shores by raft, U-boat attacks in the St. Lawrence, army mutinies in British Columbia, and Ontario and pro-Hitler propaganda in the mainstream Quebec press -- censors had a hard time keeping news events contained.
Now, with freshly unsealed World War II press-censor files, many of the undocumented events that occurred in wartime Canada are finally revealed. In Mark Bourrie's illuminating and well-researched account, we learn about the capture of a Nazi spy-turned-double agent, the Japanese-Canadian editor who would one day help develop Canada's medicare system, the curious chiropractor from Saskatchewan who spilled atomic bomb secrets to a roomful of people and the use of censorship to stop balloon bomb attacks from Japan. The Fog of War investigates the realities of media censorship through the experiences of those deputized to act on the public's behalf.
The Gothic Line by
Publication Date: 2006-10-18
Stretching like an armour-toothed belt across Italy’s upper thigh, the Gothic Line was the most fortified and fiercely defended position the German army had yet thrown in the path of the advancing Allied forces. On August 25, 1944, it fell to I Canadian Corps to spearhead the famed Eighth Army’s major offensive, intended to rip through the Gothic Line.
Never had the Germans in Italy brought so much artillery to bear or deployed such a great number of tanks. For twenty-eight days, the battle raged as the Canadians, with British and Polish troops advancing on their flanks, slugged into the German defences. On September 22 the Canadians finally won, opening the way for the next phase of the Allied advance. The price was high—the greatest toll in casualties suffered during the long years of the Italian campaign.
The Gothic Line: Canada’s Month of Hell in World War II Italy brings the story of what renowned military historian Jack Granatstein hails as Canada’s most momentous World War II battle to vivid life by telling the story through the eyes of the soldiers. It is a suspenseful, dramatic book that gives back to Canadians a forgotten and neglected part of their historical heritage.
Holding Juno by
Publication Date: 2006-06-01
Following his national best-seller, Juno Beach, and with his usual verve and narrative skill, historian Mark Zuehlke chronicles the crucial six days when Canadians saved the vulnerable beachheads they had won during the D-Day landings.
D-Day ended with the Canadians six miles inlandï??the deepest penetration achieved by Allied forces during this longest day in history. But for all the horror endured on June 6 every soldier knew the worst was yet to come.
The Germans began probing the Canadian lines early in the morning of June 7 and shortly after dawn counter attacked in force. The ensuing six days of battle between a Canadian division determined to widen its hold on the beachhead and an equally determined foe intent on eliminating Juno Beach was to prove bloodier than D-Day itself. Although battered and bloody, the Canadians had held their ground and made it possible for the slow advance toward Germany and eventual Allied victory to begin.
Holding Juno recreates this pivotal battle and the ultimate triumph of Canadian arms through the eyes of the soldiers who fought it, with the same dramatic intensity and factual detail that made Juno Beach, in the words of Quill & Quire reviewer Michael Clark, "the defining popular history of Canada's D-Day battle."
The Liri Valley by
Publication Date: 2004-05-21
For the Allied Armies fighting their way up the Italian boot in early 1944. Rome was the prize that could only be won through one of the greatest offensives of the war. Mark Zuehlke, following his book, Ortona, returns to the Mediterranean theatre of World War II with this gripping story of courage in the face of seemingly insurmountable odds.
The Liri Valley was a long, flat corridor through miles of rugged mountains. At one end stood the formidable Monte Cassino, at the other, Rome. In May 1944, I Canadian Corps drops up this valley toward the Italian captial, facing the infamous Hitler Line -- a bastion of concrete bunkers fronted by wide swaths of tangled barbed wire, minefields, and "Tobruk" weapon pits. The ensuing battle resulted in Canada's single bloodiest day of the Italian campaign. But the sacrifice of young Canadians during the twenty-four days of relentless combat it took to clear the valley paved the way for the Allies to take Rome.
The Liri Valley is testament to the bravery of such Canadians as Victoria Cross-winning Jack Mahony, Panzer killer Private J.A. Thrasher, and the badly wounded Captain Pierre Potvin who survived more than thirty hours alone in the hell of no man's land. This book, like the battle it records, will live long in reader's memories.
Publication Date: 2004-05-19
A masterful retelling one of the major victories of Canadian troops over the German army’s elite division during WWII.