LibGuides: Indigenous Resources: Social Studies and Social Justice Resources

Seasonal Round
Integrated Social Studies and Science Unit for Grade 4.

The Legacy of Hope Foundation
The Legacy of Hope Foundation is a charitable foundation that was started to educate and raise awareness about the legacy of residential schools.

Project of the Heart
Project of the Heart is collaborative venture exploring the impact of Residential Schools and the healing process through art.

Speak Truth to Power Canada
Resources for Human Rights Education specifically focusing on Canadian Issues.

National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls
The Government of Canada website devoted for the Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls.

National Council for Truth and Reconciliation

National Council for Truth and Reconciliation
Resources and information related to Truth and Reconciliation at a National level.

Project of the Heart Book
A teaching resource about truth and reconciliation compiled the the Project of the Heart project.

Indian Residential Schools and Reconciliation

Indian Residential Schools Reconciliation Guide
A teacher resource guide developed by the First Nations Steering Committee to teach about residential school and reconciliation to Grade 10 students.
Indian Residential School and Reconciliation Guide
A teacher resource guide developed by the First Nations Steering Committee to teach about the residential school system and truth and reconciliation for Grade 11 and 12 students.

BC First Nations Land, Title, and Governance Teacher Resource Guide (2019)

BC First Nations Land, Title, and Governance Teacher Resource Guide (2019)
Activities and resources developed by the First Nations Educational Steering Committee to support Grades 2-12 classes in topics surrounding traditional and modern forms of First Nations governance.

First Nations Family and Caring Society

First Nations Family and Caring Society
The First Nations Family and Caring Society provides support for First Nations families, children and youth. There are some excellent resources on this site surrounding Social Justice Issues.

Where Are the Children? Healing the Legacy of Residential Schools
This site explores the healing process surrounding Residential Schools and the history and impact of the Residential School system through survivor stories, archival photos and documents that have been curated by Iroquois artist Jeff Thomas.

Canadian Museum for Human Rights Classroom Activities
Activities and lesson plans designed by Equitas International Centre for Human Rights Education for Grades K-12.

Who Is She?
Information about the missing and murdered aboriginal women in Canada and resources surrounding their stories and what we can do to help.

Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada
Website detailing the progress of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission in Canada. The executive summary on the main page is a particularly good resource for an overview of the commission.

100 Years of Loss
The virtual resource supporting the 100 Years of Loss exhibition exploring the impact of the residential schools over the last 100 years.

Residential Schools Photographic Collection
Curated by Library and Archives Canada. This collection is of primary source photographs taken in residential schools between 1885 and 1996.

A Journey Into Time Immemorial
A virtual tour developed by SFU taking students through an historic aboriginal village on the banks of the Fraser River.

Making History. Our Land. Our Culture. Our Future.

Making History. Our Land. Our Culture. Our Future.
A resource that explores the history of Metis settlements in Alberta.

Exploring Alberta's Eight Metis settlements

Exploring Alberta’s eight Métis settlements
This resource from Canadian Geographic provides information about the eight communities in Alberta that are the only recognized Métis land bases in Canada.

We Were Children was a documentary submitted to the International Film Festival in November 2016. This documentary explores the history and impact of the Residential School system in Canada.

Wab Kinew's piece on Strombo's Soap Box where he discusses First Nations stereotypes and why we need to stop using them.

Wab Kinew explores 500 years of the treatment of aboriginal people in Canada in two minutes.

Teacher Resources Available for checkout in the library.

They Came for the Children by The Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada
Call Number: TRM 371.829 THE
Publication Date: 2012
This guide put together by The Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada provides resources exploring the history and impact of the residential school system in Canada.
Indian Residential School and Reconciliation Teacher Resource Guide: Grade 5 by FNESC
Call Number: TRM 371.829 IND
This resource has been developed by the First Nations Educational Steering Committee. It provides resources and lesson plans connected to the Grade 5 Social Studies curriculum to support learning about the Indian Residential School system and about Reconciliation.

Land, Family and Identity: Contextualizing Métis Health and Well-being

Land, Family and Identity: Contextualizing Métis Health and Well-being
This publication examines how socio-cultural and political history within the contemporary denials of Indigeneity impact determinants of Métis health. It also includes a section on Métis systems of governance.